Negro Spirituals: The Strength of our Nation

When I start to get down, I think of soldiers, civilians in the Middle East and black people. 

I remember the suffering of others and how my puny problems cannot compare. 

And I remember when I think of God, I often think of a big, black woman wearing yellow.

In a recent editorial in the Times Dispatch, I felt validated.  It seems the Civil Rights protest songs have nested in our cultural heart and, if forgotten, are revived through our national memory whenever we feel the call of higher, peaceful purpose:

By Times-Dispatch Staff
Published: May 13, 2011» 0 Comments | Post a Comment

In “33 Revolutions per Minute: A History of Protest Songs from Billie Holiday to Green Day” Dorian Lynskey addresses another musical genre that dinosaurs consider in decline. The Nation has asked readers to nominate their favorites.“We Shall Overcome” tops our charts. 

Surely “Marching Round Selma” also joined people of all ethnic groups in a cry for freedom, justice and equality.  Human beings inherently want those things which allow them to live full, safe lives.

I will say my “Amen” now and leave you with a song of strength. 

 MARCHING ‘’ROUND SELMA

Marching ‘round Selma like Jericho,
Jericho, Jericho
Marching ‘round Selma like Jericho
For segregation wall must fall
Look at people answering
To the Freedom Fighters call
Black, Brown and White American say
Segregation must fall
Good evening freedom’s fighters
Tell me where you’re bound
Tell me where you’re marching
“From Selma to Montgomery town

Leave a Reply

